John Muir Was No Liar in My Book…

There have been several writers over the centuries who have attempted to grasp the beauty of nature in all its glory, but sometimes it’s just hard to convey what someone is truly thinking or saying about nature until you actually see it with your very own eyes…

That was my dilemma and the initial conflict I was having with trying to “connect with nature.” I had read several “nature-oriented” books before, like Henry David Thoreau’s Walden, a must for practically anyone who enjoys living a minimalist lifestyle from time to time. I’ve also read parts of Wild at Heart by John Eldredge, which takes a more spiritual look at man, nature and God. However, reading these books don’t do you any good unless you practice what they preach.

That’s where writer and wilderness-lover John Muir comes into play. One of his most famous quotes is, “The mountains are calling and I must go.”

There was a point in my life where I had finished college, I was engaged to be married, yet the stresses of everyday life was weighing heavily on my soul. I had no outlet when it came to giving my soul that peace it longed for. It was as if every single day came and went and my life was just slowly drifting by with me being totally and completely oblivious.

The opportunity to shift my mindset came in the form of a close friend named Brandon McCormick. Like myself, Brandon needed that occasional “release” from society and he had found it in the throws of the North Georgia wilderness. It was almost as if God was using Brandon as my tool to not only relieve the stresses I constantly had from everyday life, but to aid in bringing me closer to a God I already loved through experiencing some of God’s greatest gifts to man: nature.

When Brandon made it clear he wanted to head out “into the thick” with me, there was practically no hesitation in my response. I was ready to embrace the wilderness with open arms and prepare myself for what would ultimately be one of the most eye-opening weekends of my entire life.

On a side note, as anyone knows, investing in a new hobby can be time-consuming and expensive. Backpacking is no joke if you want to truly enjoy your experience. Luckily, all I truly needed on this first trek was an inexpensive pack and the proper apparel. Brandon was able to provide the rest. If you are attempting to get someone to start backpacking with you, try and help them out as much as possible initially when it comes to gear. There’s no reason for them to spend an inordinate amount of money if they won’t end up enjoying it.

As Brandon and I picked our trail for the weekend (which ended up being Section 2 of the Benton MacKaye Trail which takes you over several mountain ridges and over the Toccoa River on a 260-foot suspension bridge) and we headed out, I was more than anxious; I was ecstatic. Never before had I ventured into the wilderness like this, with just the supplies on our backs and the unknown awaiting us.

The wilderness trip ended up being just as I originally pictured in my mind. Brandon and I were met with nice weather for both days (in early February no less), the trail was just long enough and just difficult enough for anyone’s first backpacking trip, and I left the trail having a richer appreciation for the life I had been living. The physical and mental test I put myself through gave me the confidence in myself I never thought I had.

Toccoa River Suspension Bridge

The 260-foot suspension bridge over the Toccoa River. Photo by: The_Gut

It was good not to think about work or anything else for a weekend. Not to mention having to be away from my fiance’ (who is now my wife) for just those two days was enough to make me well up when I saw her face the moment I returned home.

Which brings me back to my original point. If you feel that calling from God that something in your life needs to change, don’t turn a blind eye. Listen with intent. His words may come from anywhere and if you aren’t paying attention, you’ll miss them. John Muir heard the mountains calling him, just as I did. I never even second-guessed what God was trying to tell me once I reached the top of my first mountain peak while backpacking and my life simply hasn’t been the same since then.

In a later blog post, I will revisit this initial backpacking trip and go into more intricate detail on the entire weekend.

Until then, why not take the time to read one of those books mentioned above!

~ by parkerherrin on February 21, 2011.

2 Responses to “John Muir Was No Liar in My Book…”

  1. […] This post was mentioned on Twitter by Parker Herrin, Kate Martin. Kate Martin said: RT @ParkerHerrin John Muir Was No Liar in My Book… http://bit.ly/gr8JuE #hiking #religion #quotes […]

  2. […] an earlier post (John Muir Was No Liar in My Book) I talked about how venturing into the North Georgia Mountains and backpacking for the first time […]

Leave a comment